Posted by: godandchocolate | January 20, 2010

Learning about St. Teresa of Avila

The Ecstasy of St. Teresa of Avila - Gianlorenzo Bernini

Realizing that I know little to nothing about St. Teresa of Avila, apart from a few readily-available facts and a class or two discussing her understanding of prayer back at the alma mater, I’ve resolved to dive a little deeper.

In no particular order, here is a brainstorm of the questions I hope to answer and topics I plan to cover:

The Story of St. Teresa of Avila, Doctor of the Church: biography, and her significance for the Church

  • Teresa’s early life and vocation
  • The reform of the Carmelites and her relationship with St. John of the Cross
  • Her mystical theology and spiritual life

Reading the works of St. Teresa of Avila

Would anyone like to join me? We can walk together through the works of St. Teresa and learn a little (or a lot!) about the Christian life.

Responses

  1. […] be honest, I don’t know much about St. Teresa of Avila (but I do plan on learning!). Nor do I really remember where I ever heard this saying attributed to Teresa, the saying which […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

